The Magnificent Seven

IAA Presidents

This history covers two distinct periods  of the IAA’s development. In 1946 it was formed as the Belfast Centre of the Irish Astronomical Society. Apart from Dublin there were other centres in Armagh, Cork, Derry, Galway, Clonmel and Dundalk though some of these didn’t last long. The IAS was formed in October 1937 in Dublin, but established the regional centres in the years afterwards. For the first five years the senior officeholder was designated “President”. This changed to “Chairman” in 1951.

In 1974 the only two remaining regional centres, Dublin and Belfast, went their separate ways with Dublin keeping the Irish Astronomical Society name and Belfast becoming the Irish Astronomical Association, find the useful source here. The senior officeholder designation returned to “President” at this time.
The Magnificent Seven
Pictured above:- Philip Baxter (2009-2012), Terry Moseley, BEM (1980-1983, 1994-1997, 2000-2003 and 2014- 2015), Paul Evans (2012-2014, 2015 – 2018, 2023-), Dr Andy McCrea, MBE (1997-2000, 2003-2006, 2022), Tony Drennan (1977-1978), Brian Beesley (1978-1980, 2018- present), Pat O’Neill (2006-2009). Photo: Danny Collins 19th Feb 2014
The Roll of Presidents and Chairmen to date is as follows:-
AGM No. (IAS No.)YearPresident
Inaugural1946Sir David Lindsay Keir
1st1947Sir David Lindsay Keir
2nd1948Sir David Lindsay Keir
3rd1949Sir David Lindsay Keir
5th1951A P Fitzgerald
6th1952A P Fitzgerald
7th1953Brig. Papworth
8th1954Brig. Papworth
9th1955A S Merrick
10th1956A S Merrick
11th1957R Hayward
12th1958C McMahon
13th1959A Scott
14th1960A Scott
15th1961A Scott
16th1962W G McCusker
17th1963W G McCusker
18th1964I Grainger
19th1965I Grainger
20th1966I Grainger
21st1967Andrew Trimble
22nd1968Andrew Trimble
23rd1969Andrew Trimble
24th1970Ronnie Ormonde
25th1971Ronnie Ormonde
26th1972Ronnie Ormonde
27th1973David E Beesley
28th1974David E Beesley


The Belfast centre reconstituted on 17th May 1974 as the Irish Astronomical Association

  Ronnie Ormonde
I (29th1975Ronnie Ormonde
II (30th)1976Ronnie Ormonde
III (31st)1977Tony Drennan
IV (32nd)1978Brian J Beesley
V (33rd)1979Brian J Beesley
VI (34th)1980Terry Moseley
VII (35th)1981Terry Moseley
8th1982Terry Moseley
9th1983Dr H R Ormonde
10th1984Dr H R Ormonde
11th1985Dr H R Ormonde
12th1986J Flynn
13th1987J Flynn
14th1988J Flynn
15th1989David E Beesley
16th1990David E Beesley
17th1991Bruce Hardie
18th1992Bruce Hardie
19th1993Bruce Hardie
20th1994Terry Moseley
21st1995Terry Moseley
22nd1996Terry Moseley
23rd1997Dr Andy McCrea
24th1998Dr Andy McCrea
25th1999Dr Andy McCrea
26th2000Terry Moseley
27th2001Terry Moseley
28th2002Terry Moseley
29th2003Dr Andy McCrea
30th2004Dr Andy McCrea
31st2005Dr Andy McCrea
32nd2006Pat O’Neill
33rd2007Pat O’Neill
34th2008Pat O’Neill
35th2009Philip Baxter
36th2010Philip Baxter
37th2011Philip Baxter
38th2012Paul Evans
39th2013Paul Evans
40th2014Terry Moseley
41st2015Paul Evans
42nd2016Paul Evans
43rd2017Paul Evans
44th2018Brian Beesley
45th2019Brian Beesley
46th2020Danny Collins
47th2021 Danny Collins
48th2022Dr Andy McCrea
49th2023Paul Evans

Astronomy in Northern Ireland and Beyond